Cams, cables and servers

ztmsl

1)

I am rather impressed by how thoroughly all the cables involved in the cams are removed from sight. Surely every cam needs a power cable and probably a data cable too (or by wi-fi). Almost nowhere is there any cable visible.  The same goes for power plugs.

Not only does that mean an excellent job of the electricians/carpenters team behind RLC :-) but it is also a sign of a long term investment in every apartment. It is not a quick job of installing some cheap webcams with an usb-cable.

2)

Would I be correct by assuming that every apartment needs a small network server to channel all the data to the central RLC servers? Somewhere out of view of the cams, of course, probably in a cupboard.

• 2 weeks later...

1) Or may be the cam are just linked to the server via wifi, no?

2) May be not a server. I'm not a pro but I guess that all they need to do is to bring the signal once to their own server somewhere in the world and from there dispatch it to every user. But that's an interesting question nonetheless

• 3 months later...
On ‎28‎/‎09‎/‎2016 at 0:37 AM, ztmsl said:

1)

I am rather impressed by how thoroughly all the cables involved in the cams are removed from sight. Surely every cam needs a power cable and probably a data cable too (or by wi-fi). Almost nowhere is there any cable visible.  The same goes for power plugs.

Not only does that mean an excellent job of the electricians/carpenters team behind RLC :-) but it is also a sign of a long term investment in every apartment. It is not a quick job of installing some cheap webcams with an usb-cable.

2)

Would I be correct by assuming that every apartment needs a small network server to channel all the data to the central RLC servers? Somewhere out of view of the cams, of course, probably in a cupboard.